iStock-849243802.jpg

PROGRAMME

Monday 6th September
Career workshop and roundtable, followed by poster session
Parallel sessions - 90 minutes + 90 minutes for poster session

San Francisco

08:00 - 11:30

Oklahoma

10:00 - 13:30

London

16:00 - 19:30

Beijing

23:00 - 02:30

Sydney

01:00 - 04:30

Early career scholars workshop

The COVID-19 pandemic has changed the way academic departments search for and choose their new faculty members---and many departments have placed a temporary pause on future hires. We don’t know if online seminars and interviews will continue to be used in screening faculty candidates, however, there are some universal practices that can increase your chances of being competitive in any job market.  The topic of this informal and interactive workshop is “How to Apply to and Interview for a Faculty Position”— and is intended for post-docs and graduate students.  Topics include:  elevator speeches; common application, seminar, and interview mistakes; how to develop effective teaching and research statements and a useful teaching philosophy; the importance of your application cover letter; and what to expect during an interview, including questions you might be asked.  For questions about the workshop, please contact Dr. Gordon Uno at guno@ou.edu.

Closing the gap: the role of regulatory standards in biofilm research & industry innovation

This roundtable session will offer a set of (hopefully controversial!) industrial and academic perspectives on the importance of standard biofilm test methods. Case studies will focus on the need for biofilm methods in the oil and gas industry, the advantages and disadvantages of a standard test method versus best practices guidelines, and how regulatory hurdles are placing constraints on biofilm technology development and innovation. We will also provide an opportunity to submit questions for discussion in advance of the session through a pre-questionnaire. 
Organisers: Darla Goeres, Scott Wade, Jeremy Webb & International Biofilm Standards Task Group

Posters - 90 minutes

Tuesday 7th September
Invited and submitted talks, followed by poster session
Parallel sessions - 2 x 2 hours + 90 minutes for poster session

San Francisco

05:00 - 11:00

Oklahoma

07:00 - 13:00

London

13:00 - 18:00

Beijing

20:00 - 02:00

Sydney

22:00 - 04:00

Session 1: Fate of spilled oil

Co-chairs: Charles Greer & Lars Schreiber

Arrival and networking

The biodegradation of petroleum hydrocarbons in aquatic environments, Dr Kenneth Lee, National Senior Science Advisor for Oil Spill Research,Preparedness and Response Fisheries and Oceans, Canada

 

Submitted talks and Q&A:

Four decades later: Long-term weathering of oil spilled during the Baffin Island Oil Spill (BIOS) project, Lars Schreiber, National Research Council of Canada, Montreal, Canada

Oil Spill Dispersants Stimulate Oil Biodegradation by Increasing Bioavailability, Roger C. Prince, Stonybrook Apiary, Pittstown, NJ, USA

 

How Biodegradable is Sunlight-Exposed Petroleum? Formation and Degradation of Oil Photoproducts after Spills, Christoph Aeppli, Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences, East Boothbay, ME, USA

Session 3: Biodegradation of anthropogenic compounds

Co-chairs: Joseph M. Suflita & Alejandra Santana

Arrival and networking

Defluorination of perfluoro alkyl acids by Acidimicrobium sp. strain A6:  Identification of a novel dehalogenase and applications for remediation, Peter R. Jaffé, Princeton University, USA

Submitted talks and Q&A

Session 2: Biofilm interactions with coatings and surfaces

Co-chairs: Kara De León & Rajesh Sani

Arrival and networking

Corrosion of metals by microbial biofilms: Bioenergetics, extracellular electron transfer and semi-conductive passive film, Tingyue Gu, Ohio University, USA

Submitted talks and Q&A:

Beneficial biofilms for bioremediation of persistent organic pollutants, Birthe V. Kjellerup, University of Maryland at College Park, USA

Genetic requirements for biofilm formation by the sulfate-reducing bacterium Desulfovibrio vulgaris Hildenborough, Kara B. De Leόn, University of Oklahoma

Session 4: Biotransformations of plastics

Co-chairs: Ji-Dong Gu & Xiangrong Xu 

Arrival and networking

Invited speaker TBC

Submitted talks and Q&A:

Interaction between organisms and plastic, Huahong Shi

Characteristic changes of different plastic packing bags under UV photodegradation, Chengjun Sun

Rapid and Accurate Quantitation and Characterization of Microplastic Particles < 300-Microns Using Cell Cytometry and Raman Spectroscopy, Mark A. Nanny, OptoKhemia Analytical LLC and University of Oklahoma, USA

Posters - 90 minutes

Wednesday 8th September
Invited and submitted talks, followed by poster session
Parallel sessions - 2 x 2 hours + 90 minutes for poster session

San Francisco

05:00 - 11:00

Oklahoma

07:00 - 13:00

London

13:00 - 18:00

Beijing

20:00 - 02:00

Sydney

22:00 - 04:00

Session 5: Anaerobic hydrocarbon biodegradation – from the lab to the field

Co-chairs: Lisa Gieg & Courtney R.A. Toth

Arrival and networking

Guaymas Basin Spreading Center – a hot spot of marine microbial activity and hydrocarbon transformation, Dr. Andreas Teske, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Submitted talks and Q&A:

Bioaugmentation for Anaerobic Treatment of Benzene: Culture Scale-Up, Lab Testing and Preliminary Field Results, Courtney Toth, University of Toronto, Canada

Session 7: Field molecular methods for biodegradation and biodeterioration communities

Co-chairs: Kathleen Duncan & Athenia Oldham

Arrival and networking

Deciphering microbial life strategies in hydraulically fractured subsurface ecosystems, Michael Wilkins, Colorado State University, USA

Submitted talks and Q&A

Session 6: Biodeterioration and preservation in art, archaeology and architecture

Co-chairs: Christine Gaylarde & Nuno Mesquita

Arrival and networking

Climate matters: Why (extremophilic) microorganisms play an increasingly important role in the deterioration of art and cultural heritage, Katja Sterflinger, Institute of Science and Technology in Art, Vienna, Austria

The CROMALUX project (2020-2022): Third SMARTiago Challenge - Smart public lighting system for Heritage Building Conservation, Patricia Sanmartin, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Submitted talks and Q&A

Session 8: Biodeterioration by Eukaryotes

Co-chairs: Flavia Pinzari & Pascal Querner

Arrival and networking

Fungal staining on documents and artworks: A challenge to paper conservation, Sílvia O. Sequeira, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

Invited speaker TBC

Submitted talks and Q&A:

Biodeterioration by insects - materials determine the species, Pascal Querner, Natural History Museum Vienna, Austria

Posters - 90 minutes

Thursday 9th September
Invited and submitted talks, followed by AGM and presentation of awards
Parallel sessions - 1 x 2 hours + 60 minutes for AGM and awards

San Francisco

05:00 - 08:00

Oklahoma

07:00 - 10:00

London

13:00 - 16:00

Beijing

20:00 - 23:00

Sydney

22:00 - 01:00

Session 9: Biodeterioration of fuels and fuel system components

Co-chairs: Oscar Ruiz & Caitlin Bojanowski

Arrival and networking

Invited speaker TBC

Submitted talks and Q&A

Session 10: Next generation of materials to prevent biodeterioration

Co-chairs: Recep Avci & Venkata Ramana Gadhamshetty

Arrival and networking

Future of two dimensional layered materials as protective coatings for microbial corrosion prevention, Venkata Ramana Gadhamshetty, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, USA

Submitted talks and Q&A

AGM
Presentation of awards
Closing remarks and summary
End of conference